TVS Colloquium Series

In addition to our regular meetings, TVS hosts a colloquium series designed to feature a wide range topics in greater detail. These topics include science both directly related to LSST and also other topics of general interest to our members.

We are also keen to feature topics of broad cultural interest, and welcome thought-provoking perspectives on science from all cultures and faiths, as well as from art and history.

TVS Colloquia are recorded, and are shared publicly on our YouTube channel (search for Rubin LSST TVS Science Collaboration) with the speaker's permission.
The Colloquium Series is organized by Katja Bricman, of the University of Nova Gorica, Slovenia, and all members are encouraged to contact her via the LSST Slack to propose future colloquium topics.

Upcoming colloquia

Russ Taylor (SKA Research Chair in Radio Astronomy, University of Cape Town and University of the Western Cape) and David Buckley (Southern African Large Telescope)

TBD
Monday, 21st February 2022, 8 am PST / 5 pm CET

Previous colloquia

Raffaella Margutti (UC Berkeley)

Challenges and opportunities in the LSST era in the context of time-domain multi-messenger astrophysics
Monday, 20th December 2021, 8 am PST / 5 pm CET

Ryan Ridden (University of Canterbury)

A Joint Southern Co-Survey with the Õtehĩwai and Rubin Observatories
Monday, 15th November 2021, 11 am PST / 8 pm CET

James Hitchcock (University of St Andrews)

PyTorchDIA: a flexible, GPU-accelerated numerical approach to Difference Image Analysis
Monday, 18th October 2021, 8 am PDT / 5 pm CEST

Massimo Dall'Ora (Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica - INAF)

Waiting for the Legacy: a pilot data analysis of the Bulge Globular Cluster NGC 6569
Monday, 5th July 2021, 8 am PDT / 5 pm CEST

Dax Feliz (Vanderbilt University)

NEMESIS: Exoplanet Transit Survey of Nearby M-Dwarfs in TESS FFIs I
Monday, 21st June 2021, 8 am PDT / 5 pm CEST

Martine Lokken (University of Toronto) and Alex Gagliano (University of Illinois)

Simulating Host Galaxies for Transients in PLAsTiCC V2
Monday, 7th June 2021, 8 am PDT / 5 pm CEST

Ashley Villar (Columbia University)

Searching for Bumps in the Night: A Data-driven Revolution for Time Domain Astrophysics
Monday, 19th Apr 2021, 8 am PDT / 5 pm CEST

Marc Moniez (Laboratoire de l'Accélérateur Linéaire)

Search for hidden baryons through interstellar scintillation
Monday, 15th Mar 2021, 9 am PST / 5 pm CET

Nina Hernitschek (Vanderbilt University)

Machine Learning for Classification Strategies for Astronomical Sources
Monday, 22nd Feb 2021, 8 am PST / 5 pm CET